Option 2: The eight central books in the series (dated books are complete):

Anne of Green Gables (04/00/10)
Anne of Avonlea
Anne of the Island
Anne of Windy Poplars/Windy Willows
Anne’s House of Dreams
Anne of Ingleside
Rainbow Valley
Rilla of Ingleside
“There’s such a lot of different Annes in me. I sometimes think that is why I’m such a troublesome person. If I was just the one Anne it would be ever so much more comfortable, but then it wouldn’t be half so interesting.”